Be Selfish

I have a confession.

I started this blog to inspire myself.

All the ideas and posts you see here are really reminders for myself and how I want to lead my life. It’s an entirely selfish move. And you should be grateful for that.

It’s safe to assume that everybody wants only the best for himself. That’s why my posts are my best. They’re written by me, for me. If they happen to inspire you too, make you think a little, good for you.

Writers write the books they want to read. Filmmakers make the films they want to watch.

Martha Graham, unsatisfied with the Denishawn method, created her own dance movements.

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” ― Toni Morrison

Doing things for ourselves is the best way of ensuring that our works live up to our expectations.

World of Warcraft, a MMORPG first of its kind, eventually came to shape all the MMORPGs that came after it. Almost every MMORPGs that came after WoW followed a similar concept. Blizzard is like the Tolkien of the fantasy literature world. (And shame on you if you don’t know who Tolkien is, here you go.)

I watched a documentary, Looking For Group, released for WoW’s 10th anniversary (2004 – 2014) yesterday. All the staffs worked on the game so enthusiastically because it was a game that wasn’t on the market — a game that they themselves wanted to play. They created the game so that they can play the game!

Isn’t that a wonderfully simple formula to follow?

So get out there, write the stories you want to read. Create the app that you need. Cook the food that you will eat.

Leave a Reply

