I Gave Up My Public Holidays

I go to bed at ten every night.

Last night, I wanted to stay up later for a bit of gaming. “It’s a public holiday tomorrow. I can afford a little rest, can’t I?” I told myself.

Why am I telling myself to rest because it’s a public holiday? How does it even concern me?

Then I remembered why I chose to be a freelancer; why I decided to give up all my holidays since 2011.

I am a freelancer because I want to live my days according to my own calendar. I want to live my life on my own terms.

I don’t need someone else to tell me when it’s okay for me to take an off day.

I determine my own days — it doesn’t make sense any other ways.

I am a freelancer because I want to be free.

I gave up public holidays in exchange for private holidays.

And Christmas Day, the 25th of December, is not a holiday on my calendar.

Leave a Reply

