‘New Year Resolutions’ Is A Scam

 

Are there any changes in your life you would like to see in 2015?

How would you do things differently?

What are your goals for the new year?

Well…

If you’re waiting for 2015 to come around before you start making changes in your life, realise this:

It’s the annual version of the bullshit you tell yourself: “I’ll do it tomorrow.”

“I’ll do it next year.”

Why do you have to wait for a new year before you commit to a change? What is it you’re expecting in 2015 that is different from 2014?

Is there something special about 2015 that enables you to finally make that change you wanted in 2012?

I have told my friends for many years now that I’ll sleep early and get up early. I always slipped back into my old habits eventually, turning in only at 2 a.m. or later.

But in November, just last month, I’m very proud to say that I have finally succeeded at keeping my habit of sleeping at 10 p.m. and waking up at 6 a.m. (Except for Saturdays when I have my vocal lessons at night.)

It was around October when I attempted this again. I don’t have a full-time job; I don’t need to report to an office by 8 a.m. I have no reason to get up at 6 a.m. It’s also very near 2015. I had a lot of reasons to make this my New Year resolution instead.

I’m glad I didn’t.

Resolutions aren’t made by writing them on a piece of paper on the 31st of December.

Resolutions are made each time you do something.

And you’re always resolving towards something.

Each jog is a resolution towards living a healthier and fitter life.
Each penny you save is a resolution to developing better money habits.

When you run one day a year, you resolve NOT to run for 364 days.

“I made no resolutions for the New Year. The habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me. ”

― Anaïs Nin

Start making resolutions today. And every day after. You’ll be 12 days worth of effort ahead people who make them in 2015.

What do you resolve today?

Leave a Reply

